Minnesota Book Award Winners

May 7,
SAINT PAUL, MN The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library is pleased to announce the winners of the 19th annual Minnesota Book Awards.  In addition to winners in eight categories, the Book Awards presented the new Readers’ Choice Award, which was selected by nearly 3,ooo voters from across
Minnesota.   The annual Minnesota Book Awards program is a project of The Friends, in consortium with the Saint Paul Public Library and the Mayor’s Office of the City of
Saint Paul.

Announced at a gala award ceremony hosted by Kerri Miller of Minnesota Public Radio and attended by over 600 people on Saturday, May 5, the winners of the 2007 Minnesota Book Awards are: 

The Readers’ Choice Award (sponsored by TwinCities.com): 

SanfordWaking: A Memoir of Trauma and Transcendence – published by Rodale
Waking chronicles the life of Matt Sanford which was irrevocably changed at age thirteen when an accident on a snowy
Iowa road left him paralyzed from the chest down.  This pivotal event set
Sanford on a lifelong journey from intensive care to becoming a paralyzed yoga teacher.  Matt Sanford lives in
Orono, Minnesota.

Award for Autobiography, Memoir & Creative Nonfiction:
Diane Wilson – Spirit Car:  Journey to a Dakota Past – published by Borealis Books/Minnesota Historical Society Press
When she reached her thirties,
Diane Wilson began wondering why her mother so rarely spoke of her past.  In Spirit Car,
Wilson travels to
South Dakota and
Nebraska where she uncovers hidden stories of five generations of Dakota Indian relatives. 
Wilson is a freelance writer/editor who lives in
Shafer, Minnesota.

Award for Children’s Literature:
Dianne E. Gray – Tomorrow, the River – published by Houghton Mifflin
Tomorrow, the River is the tale of fourteen-year-old Megan Barnett, who in the late 1800s travels by train to
Iowa, where she joins her sister’s family on a
Mississippi riverboat for a summer filled with travel and adventure.  Gray, the author of three books, makes her home in
Winona, Minnesota.

Award for Fine Press:
Jim Moore, Regula Russelle and CB Sherlock, What it’s like here: – published by Accordion Productions
What it’s like here: is the third book in a series that integrates literature and art.  It features five poems by Jim Moore which describe the sweetness and pain of living and line drawings by CB Sherlock which depict the city in winter, all brought together by fine press artist Regula Russelle.  

Award for General Nonfiction:
Taner Akçam – A Shameful Act: The Armenian Genocide and the Question of Turkish Responsibility – published by Metropolitan Books/Henry Holt and Company
In this pioneering work, A Shameful Act, Turkish historian Taner Akçam documents a scrupulous account of Turkish responsibility for the killing of close to one million Armenians, challenging the country’s 90+ year denial of intentional genocide.  Akçam teaches at the Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies at the

University of

Award for Genre Fiction:
William Kent Krueger –
Copper River – published by Atria Books/Simon & Schuster
Copper River, the sixth novel in William Kent Krueger’s award-winning mystery series, sheriff Cork O’Connor is in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan running for his life – straight into a murderous conspiracy involving teenage runaways.  Krueger lives in
St. Paul.

Award for Novel & Short Story:
Maureen Millea Smith – When Charlotte Comes Home – published by Alyson Books
Fred Holly begins his senior year working part-time at the
Omaha art museum where he escapes the worries of the raging Vietnam War.  Everything changes, though, when sister Charlotte becomes seriously ill.  When Charlotte Comes Home is Smith’s first novel.  Maureen is a librarian at the Edina Public Library.

Award for Poetry:
Jude Nutter – The Curator of Silence – published by the

University of
Notre Dame Press
Her experience of living for two months in the Antarctic, a part of the world with an abundance of solitude, inspired Jude Nutter to write The Curator of Silence, which explores the many types, dimensions and effects of silence.  Nutter, who lives in
Edina, is the recipient of several national and international poetry awards.

Award for Young Adult Literature:
Julie Schumacher – The Book of One Hundred Truths
– published by Delacorte Press/Random House Children’s BooksYoung Thea Grumman begins The Book of One Hundred Truths by admitting she is a liar, but when she spends the summer on the

Shore with relatives, she discovers that she isn’t the only one not telling the truth.  Schumacher has published many works, and teaches English at the

University of

At the Book Awards gala on May 5, Emilie Buchwald was also honored with the previously announced Kay Sexton Award, for her lifelong contributions to
Minnesota’s literary community.  The former publisher of Milkweed Editions in
Minneapolis and now publisher of Gryphon Press, Emilie Buchwald has been an icon in the state’s publishing world for nearly three decades.  She was presented the Award, sponsored by Barnes & Noble Booksellers, by acclaimed
Minnesota author Bill Holm.

Books written by a Minnesotan and first published in 2006 were eligible for the 19th annual Minnesota Book Awards.  Over 300 books were nominated for the Awards this year, and 31 books were selected as finalists.  The winners were chosen by panels of judges from the list of finalists.  Nominations for next year’s Awards will open in early fall, 2007.  For more information on the Book Awards process, and a complete list of finalists and winners since 1988, visit The Friends website, www.thefriends.org, and click on the Minnesota Book Awards icon.  

The Book Awards gala will be broadcast on the TPT-MN Channel in late May or early June.  Check your local listings for the channel, date and time of broadcast.  

The 19th annual Minnesota Book Awards is a

City project, led by
The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library, with the Saint Paul Public Library and the Office of the Mayor of Saint Paul.  Statewide outreach partners include:  Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), Minnesota Department of Education—State Library Services, Minnesota Library Association, and Library Networks for Literature—a project of the Public Programs Office of the American Library Association.  Media sponsors include:
Minnesota Public Radio, Pioneer Press, The Rake, Saint Paul Neighborhood Network (SPNN), and TPT-Minnesota Channel.  Major funding for the Book Awards was provided by the F.R. Bigelow Foundation, The Harlan Boss Foundation for the Arts, Huss Foundation, The Katherine B. Andersen Fund of The Saint Paul Foundation, a Library Services and Technology Act grant from the Office of State Library Services, Saint Paul’s Cultural STAR program, Sit Investment Associates, The Saint Paul Foundation, and Shadow Falls – a development of Wellington Management.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: